Do I send it yet?

As I have been working on my final preparations for my CV and for my portfolio, I am beginning to wonder when is the ‘correct’ time for applying for jobs?! I have a few companies that I really like the look of and that have opportunities, but I am not sure if it is too soon to be applying to companies yet… is it too soon with 3 months(ish) to go?

Part of me is saying go for it and apply, but the other part of me is saying, if they offered you a job, could you realistically accept now? Also… what if I applied now and a better opportunity presented itself further down the line? This happened to me last summer… I accepted one placement for a number of reasons, but then got presented with another one which seemed amazing, but wasn’t (at the time) long enough for the 5 month summer, however the one that I should have taken ended up being a full summer placement and the one I took turned out to not be what I expected. So, with that in mind, I do not want to rush into decisions and make choices before I am completely sure that I have pursued all lines of inquiry and made sure that I am not shutting doors to potential opportunities. This is a really important decision and one that I am completely aware of every day and do not want to regret my decisions or run into blindly.

Leave a Reply

