Gingerbread Yum

So, I was searching for ginger nut crunch recipes and craving gingerbread, but as I have to find gluten free recipes, I couldn’t get hold of one. So I took inspiration from a few I found and created my own!

Initially I thought they would turn out like my cookies do and I would be able to roll them into balls and then flatten them halfway through cooking.

But what happened was the mixture spread so much and i ended up with pretty much a tray of cookie mixture which I then cut up into squares.

Everyone enjoyed them, and so, I am going to bake them again, especially for my stall and cut out gingerbread men with my new gingerbread man cutter than should turn up today or tomorrow… hurry up!!

I’m going to write the recipe on here as I thought I had lost it!! But found it in the desk drawer (more like a man drawer, the amount of useless items in here… pebl phone to mention one of the random items in the drawer…)

225g caster sugar

125g butter

3 tbsp golden syrup

1 egg

220g self raising flour

3 tsp ginger

1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

1tsp Xanthan gum (this stuff is genius, it makes all gluten free food ‘work’ properly… before I started using it I wondered why all my cakes, biscuits, pastry fell apart or were really heavy, but this stuff works and you only need to add around 1 tsp per recipe)

A picture of what Xanthan Gum looks like in the supermarket. It also comes in a glass jar, but I couldn’t find a picture of that!

Leave a Reply

